News Archive

Elizabeth Hsiao-Wecksler

MechSE faculty appointed as Course Directors in new College of Medicine

October 20, 2017 - Professors Elizabeth Hsiao-Wecksler, Iwona Jasiuk, and Amy Wagoner Johnson will work on teams developing curricula and case studies for courses in the new Carle Illinois College of Medicine.
Jessica Perez

POETS Center receives NSF REU grant

October 19, 2017 - The POETS Center, directed by MechSE professor Andrew Alleyne, has received a Research Experiences for Undergraduates grant.
Narayana Aluru

Aluru named APS Fellow

October 18, 2017 - Professor Narayana Aluru was recently elected as a Fellow of the American Physical Society.
Arend van der Zande

van der Zande to lead team studying novel nanomaterials in new NSF center

October 16, 2017 - MechSE's Arend van der Zande, Narayana Aluru, Elif Ertekin, and SungWoo Nam are among an interdisciplinary team leading materials research at the NSF Materials Research Science and Engineering Center at Illinois.
Kyle Smith

Smith makes headway in desalination technology

October 12, 2017 - MechSE assistant professor Kyle Smith is developing a saltwater desalination process that borrows from battery technology.
Gaurav Bahl

Mechanical radio transmitter technology could be game changer for low-frequency communication

October 12, 2017 - MechSE's Gaurav Bahl and Sam Tawfick, with ECE's Jennifer Bernard, are developing a mechanical antenna that could open previously impossible communication channels for use in civilian and defense operations.
Jonghyun Choi

Choi receives Baxter award for nanomaterials work

October 12, 2017 - “This award encourages me to explore wearable and low-power health-monitoring devices with direct and real-time sensing capability of the biomolecules from human sweat.”
Ritu Raman

Raman receives For Women in Science Fellowship

October 11, 2017 - MechSE alumna Ritu Raman (MSME ’13, PhDME ’16) has been named one of only five recipients of the 2017 For Women in Science Fellowship.
SungWoo Nam

Nam receives NSF grant to research tunable surface energy of graphene

October 10, 2017 - MechSE assistant professor SungWoo Nam has received an NSF Division of Materials Research (DMR) Electronic and Photonic Materials (EPM) grant.
Elif Ertekin

Ertekin receives NSF DMREF grant

October 6, 2017 - MechSE associate professor Elif Ertekin has received an NSF Division of Materials Research grant to develop an experimentally validated, computational prediction engine for the dopability of thermoelectric materials.
Harry Dankowicz

Robotics in MechSE: Harry Dankowicz

October 4, 2017 - The U.S. Department of Agriculture is funding MechSE professor Harry Dankowicz to develop an autonomous robotic vehicle that will streamline the refilling of seed tanks in the field.
Nenad Miljkovic

Miljkovic invited to participate in National Academies symposium

October 4, 2017 - Nenad Miljkvoc is one of a small number of young scientists, engineers, and medical professionals from the U.S. and 22 countries of the Arab League selected to participate in the fifth Arab-American Frontiers of Science, Engineering, and Medicine Symposium.
Stefan Elbel

Elbel makes case for two-phase ejector technology

October 2, 2017 - Enter summary text here
Narayana Aluru

Aluru part of newest Beckman research group

September 29, 2017 - MechSE professor Narayana Aluru is one of the faculty members comprising the new Computational Molecular Science (CMS) Group.
click beetle

Click beetles inspire design of self-righting robots

September 27, 2017 - Professors Aimy Wissa and Alison Dunn are part of a team looking at how click beetles' ability to jump without the aid of their limbs can inform robotic design.

Robotics in MechSE: Hae-Won Park

September 22, 2017 - MechSE assistant professor Hae-Won Park has been awarded funding from DARPA to design a hybrid robot that can glide, land, and walk.
Kimani Toussaint

Toussaint named OSA Fellow

September 22, 2017 - MechSE associate professor Kimani Toussaint has been elected to be a Fellow of the Optical Society of America.
Mavis Future Faculty Fellows

Four MechSE students selected for Mavis Future Faculty Fellowship

September 22, 2017 - Four graduate students were selected as 2017-18 Mavis Future Faculty Fellows by the College of Engineering. They represented four of the 24 awarded from all the engineering departments.
Naira Hovakimyan

Robotics in MechSE: Naira Hovakimyan

September 15, 2017 - Naira Hovakimyan, Wilkins Professor in MechSE, is utilizing machine learning in agricultural analytics.
Corporate After Hours Fall 2017

Corporate After Hours: A Gallery

September 14, 2017 - A gallery of photos and quotes from the Fall 2017 MechSE/ISE Corporate After Hours